Cupe 3903 Strike Video

Live and direct from the front lines!

Cuba Gooding Senior Supports the CUPE 3903 Strike

This is actually a rather random video file put together by a york biology student opposed to the strike, but at 1:42 in this video the student stops a car at the picket line at random, and it turns out that Cuba Gooding Jr.’s father is in the passenger seat, and that he totally supports the strike!  The sound on the rest of the video isn’t terribly great, and the maker of the film is so misinformed that he states that we’re holding cars at the gate for two hours each, but the interview with Gooding Sr. is worth watching.

November 9, 2008 - Posted by | Day 1, Main Gate, Outside Support

3 Comments »

  1. I’m a supporter of CUPE 3903 although I must say the description of this video is inaccurate. Mr. Gooding clearly stated he supports students and teachers, never did he mention CUPE 3903 in this. The error of “2 hrs wait per car” is also an honest mistake which was corrected.

    I don’t think this video should of been posted with this decscription.

    SOLIDARITY!

    Comment by Joseph Spezziri | November 9, 2008 | Reply

  2. When you let one car go every two minutes, they start to back up. I know my parent was stuck in the line for 45 minutes when she came to pick me up from residence. This wasn’t even at the main entrance. I wouldn’t be surprised if some vehicles are being held up for two hours.

    Comment by Ash | November 9, 2008 | Reply

  3. Wow, what is Cuba Gooding Sr. doing at York? This is fascinating! I would love to know the story behind that. I think that undergrads need to understand that TA’s have a very tough time of it in terms of earning a living. I love teaching my students, and I want to have a career teaching students (and doing research of course!). I think undergraduate students will receive a better education if their TA’s are not under the gun to make rent every month. TA’s are also graduate students, and they are forced to pay full tuition for no defendable reason. As long as this strike does not drag on for months, I think CUPE 3903 at its members (myself included) have a right to make our point heard and try to get a fair agreement. If I were him, I would be at home or at the library working on my papers or assignments, making sure that if possible, I could get credit for my course, and that I do not forget all the things my TA’s have taught me.

    Comment by Michael Helfield | November 10, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

